Who will win? Finalists compete for the first-ever Brighton Grin Comedy Award

After four heats, forty contestants and eight hours of top-class comedy, the first-ever winner of the Brighton Grin Comedy Award will soon be decided. Despite the bucketloads of comic talent displayed over the last month, our up and coming comedy hopefuls have now been narrowed down to the top ten performers.

We've seen some real highs and lows throughout the competition so far. Many lesser-known names have shocked and surprised crowds with well-crafted jokes, captivating character comedy and quick one-liners. We've seen musical guests, stand-out stand-up, and even sketch comedy, resulting in a kaleidoscope of funny performances. As Voice Mag notes, it's been "a rollercoaster of comedy, with acts ranging from energetic and abstract performances to dry and dark stand-up comedy, and everything in between" (★★★★).

This Wednesday, our judging panel will come together a final time and, alongside our live audience, vote on the ultimate winner. Our final panel will include TV's super vet Marc Abraham, comedy coach David James and Otherplce Artistic Director Nicky Haydn. Also on the panel are BBC Sussex & Brighton Gin's Kathy Caton and guest judge Lulu Baker, the current Assistant to the Head of Comedy for BBC Studios.

After counting both judge and audience votes, the comedy champion will be announced. As well as the £500 cash prize, as well as a prized spot next years Brighton Fringe.

The Brighton Grin Comedy Award final will kick off on Wednesday 28th October at 8 PM. Get your tickets here.

The Finalists:

  • Matt Rouse

  • Fran Kissling

  • Ashish Suri

  • Aimee Cooper (Kitty Cassis)

  • Dan Jones

  • Joshua Mays

  • Alex Prescot

  • Elaine Fellows

  • Alex Franklin

14 views0 comments